top of page

5 Must Haves for your ART Birthday Party

5 Must Haves for your Art Birthday Party!

We just celebrated my daughter's 5th birthday with a DIY ART PARTY!!! (And by DIY, I mean we made as many of the decorations as we could ourselves, and she thought that was great fun!) She is a huge fan of painting, or any art project for that matter, so after discussing options, she settled on the idea of having a party where she could paint with all of her friends/cousins! I must say, it turned out to be a huge hit! I would highly recommend throwing your little one an art/paint party if this is something they enjoy as well. As with any party, it took some time to plan it out, make the decorations, bake and cook, but it was all so worth it in the end. To be honest, almost anything is worth it when it makes your little one as happy as this did!

I wanted to share our ideas, DIY projects and activities in case others are considering having an art party of their own. The great thing about an art party is you are not limited to a few colors when decorating. The more colorful the better (at least that is my opinion anyways), so it is easy to find things that go with the theme.

Here are: 5 Must Haves for your Art Birthday Party!

1. Themed sweet treats! This was one of my favorite parts, since I love to bake and be creative. We had plenty of desserts to offer our guests, including: paint palette cookies, paint speckled strawberries, paint brush rice krispies (they were everyone's favorite), paint lollipops (found on Amazon) and painters cupcakes. You will notice we made little name tags for the food so that everyone would know what they were eating, and it also adds some color and decoration to the table.

2. Themed food. We decided to stick with finger foods, and I let my daughter pick out the menu for the most part. Here is what we served. One thing I did not get a picture of were the "paint rollers in a baskets", which were pigs in a blanket.

3. DIY Decorations... After all, it is an art party! We had a lot of fun creating things for the party. I tried to find ways my daughter could help so she could be a part of the process. She loves helping, so she was happy to craft with me. The backdrop was made using cheap plastic table cloths, and we made the birthday sign and tissue paper #5. My daughter made the small chalkboard with chalk markers, and I made the large chalkboard sign to sit outside our front door to welcome out guests. And, of course, you can't have a child's birthday party without balloons. They are fun and add color, so they are a must for us.

4. Art Gallery to display your child's artwork! We happened to have picture ledges already set up in our main living area, so I cleared the pictures and set up an art gallery to display some of her art work. She loved this, and I noticed many of the guests admiring her pictures as well. In fact, it is still up as I type this... I am not sure when she will want me to take her display down.

5. Art Activities! This is probably the most important part. I mean, that was the point of having an art party. We decided to use paint, because painting is our favorite. If you follow me on Instagram, you know that recently we used tape and canvases to paint our names. It turned out so well, we decided to let our guests make them as well. I taped out all of their names ahead of time on a canvas, so all they had to worry about at the party was painting away!

We also made a balloon painting dart game. I don't have any tips or tricks for this activity, as it took a long time for my brother and husband to set up and they ended up with paint everywhere (including their mouths)... so it was not exactly how I had imagined it, or how it looked on Pinterest (#momfail)... But they really enjoyed it. So, that's all that matters, right?!

I hope these ideas can help you out as you plan your next art/paint party. Enjoy! :)

XOXO,

Alexandra

© 2016 by Raising Our Little Blessings

bottom of page