top of page

Baked Glazed Pumpkin Donuts

If you are anything like me when it comes to FALL, you want to spend any extra time you have baking... especially baking desserts that involve pumpkins or apples. I can't get enough of either of them!! That is probably my favorite thing about this season. Not only do pumpkins and apples make for delicious treats, but they always smell so good when baking! Plus, I consider them somewhat healthy, after all, they are both fruits, right?! Therefore I do not feel bad about the abundance of baking that takes place this time of year, or the fact that our little ones want to eat it up as quickly as I do. It's all in the name of getting our daily servings of fruit in, and learning about the fall season.

I recently purchased a donut baking pan for the first time, and I was thrilled with how moist the donuts came out! I mean, I was really really impressed. Who knew donuts could taste so good, without even being fried??? I am completely sold on this, and plan to try as many different kinds of baked donuts as I can!

Tonight my daughter and I made glazed pumpkin donuts and we wanted to share the recipe because it was THAT GOOD!! We hope you enjoy them as much as our family did!

This recipe makes approximately 12 donuts

Baked Glazed Pumpkin Donuts

Donut Ingredients:

1 15 oz can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Glaze Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

4 Tablespoons warm water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 425. Spray donut mold(s) with nonstick spray.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In a medium saucepan, add pumpkin, cinnamon and cloves and bring to a simmer until puree thickens and just begins sticking to the bottom of the pan. Remove the pan from the heat. Add in the brown sugar and oil, and whisk. Then slowly beat in the eggs. Add the pumpkin mixture to the flour mixture and whisk until just combined.

Fill each donut mold about 3/4 full. I used a Ziplock (and cut a hole in one corner of the bag) to pipe the donut batter into the pan, but you could also spoon the mixture into the pan.

Bake the donuts about 6-7 minutes, or until the tops spring back when lightly touched. They cook very quickly, so keep a close eye on them. Set up a cooling rack with wax paper under it. Let the donuts cool in the pan for a few minutes, then dump them onto the cooling rack.

In a medium bowl, combine all of the glaze ingredients together using a fork to whisk. Dip each donut in the glaze using a fork, allowing the excess to drip off. Place back on the cooling rack until glaze is firm.

Enjoy!

Beware these are rather addicting. It is hard to eat just one!

bottom of page