top of page

Easy DIY Baby Name Sign

When I was pregnant last and trying to decorate the nursery of my dreams, I had a very hard time finding anything to fit the ideas I had in my head. I was determined that her nursery would be in light purple (purple is my absolute favorite color), gray and white.

My husband had already put in new base boards, bead board and a nice chair rail in the room (painted all white), and after 3 tries, we finally found a gray color for the top part of the wall that didn't look too blue or too purple, just light gray. That was supposed to be the hard part, but low and behold.... I soon realized that baby decor typically comes in two colors... pink or blue. There just aren't as many options when you have your heart set on a nursery with other colors involved. I searched everywhere, and finally decided I needed to make a few things on my own to add the purple accents like I had envisioned.

I got to work making some curtains (thank you Pinterest for the help with that one), and then wanting to add the same pattern someplace else as well, I decided to use it to make her a name sign to display. With only a few items, and about 20 minutes later, her name sign was complete, and I happen to adore it!

Easy DIY Baby Name Sign

Materials Needed:

-Painting canvas

-Enough material to completely cover the canvas and wrap around the edges

-Wooden letters

-Paint for the letters

-Staple gun

-Scissors

-Hot glue or tacky glue

1. Cut the material so that it completely covers the canvas and can wrap around all sides to the back.

2. Use the staple gun to attach the material on the back side. I wrapped the corners so that the front appeared smooth (similar to wrapping a gift).

3. Paint the wooden letters.

4. Glue the letters onto the sign.

It was really that simple! And you can really customize it to match any theme or color scheme that you would like!

© 2016 by Raising Our Little Blessings

bottom of page